An Unexpected Career Change

Things have been happening fast since last weekend! Last Thursday I noticed a post on Canal World Forums saying there was seasonal work available at Oxfordshire Narrowboats base at Heyford Wharf helping to clean and re-stock their boats when they come off of hire, to prepare them for the next hirers, to show the new customers around the boat and give them some instruction in boat handling. As my regular work is quiet at the moment I decided to give it a go.

By Saturday I had an interview, been offered the job and was sat down with a cold drink in the sunshine taking to Joy about it when the manager came back and asked if ‘The Boss’ could have a word with me too, he had read my application and within a few minutes I had been offered an engineers job with them too!

So decisions have been made and I am closing down my business and hope to be starting a new career in the canal boat industry next month.

Yesterday afternoon we went to check out the surrounding towns & villages ending up for a meal in the Boat Inn at Thrupp where we had the pleasure of meeting the famous Bones and her neighbour Maffi.

2 thoughts on “An Unexpected Career Change”

  1. Talk about fast moving! I was planning to drop by on my way back from the Silverstone Classic on the 27th, will you still be around?

    Best of luck with the new job.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.